Brother XII’s Treasure

By (author): Amanda Spottiswoode
Illustrated by: Molly March
ISBN 9781772030716
Softcover | Publication Date: September 9, 2015
Book Dimensions: 5.5 in x 7.5 in
224 Pages
$12.95 CAD

About the Book

Shortlisted for the 2016-17 Chocolate Lily Book Award

“An absorbing, fast-paced book full of interesting characters, unexpected events, and a sense of . . . compelling quest and exploration.” —CM Magazine

The year is 1936, and seven children (aged eight to sixteen) are sprung from their respective boarding schools in England to the coast of British Columbia to embark on a summer sailing adventure like no other. On the way, they discover the true story of Brother XII, a shadowy figure recently disappeared from his island compound, who is rumoured to have buried treasure on one of the coastal islands the children will be passing through. As their vacation quickly turns into a treasure hunt, the kids encounter a crazy cast of west coast characters, until a cataclysmic event brings their search to an end. This is fun, fast-paced coastal adventure for middle readers.

About the Author(s)

Born and raised in England, Amanda Spottiswoode has a lifelong love of outdoor adventure, history, horses, sailing, and storytelling. As a child, she was taught to sail by the Royal Navy on the River Thames. After moving to Salt Spring Island, she finally realized her dream of sailing and exploring the rugged BC coastline by boat. Her first children’s book, Brother XII’s Treasure, was shortlisted for the Chocolate Lily Award. She followed this with two sequels: The Silver Lining, set in the BC Interior, and Up in Arms, set on the west coast of Vancouver Island. She lives with her husband, Tom, and lots of pets on Salt Spring Island, BC.

Molly March is an accomplished painter and set designer. She is the illustrator and mapmaker of Brother XII's Treasure and its sequel, The Silver Lining.

Reviews

“A charming yarn in the classic British kids' own tradition, sure to appeal to fans of Swallows and Amazons and The Penderwicks, replete with detail and paced in the sure knowledge that getting there is half the fun.” —Ted Staunton, author of Who I'm Not and Jump Cut
“A good, old-fashioned adventure at sea, embellished with details of a fascinating and little-known corner of British Columbian history.” —Robert Paul Weston, author of The Creature Department and Zorgamazoo
“Books with mystery + adventure + danger have always been my favourite kind of story. A sailing adventure where kids are the crew, Brother XII's Treasure delivers on all three! Part of the intrigue is the story is based on a true villain. Add the hunt for buiried treasure and it equals a perfect fast-paced read.” —Linda DeMeulemeester, author of the Grim Hill series
“More than a detective story of youthful sleuthing, Brother XII's Treasure is a treasure trove of sailing lore, natural history, and BC coastal geography. Amanda Spottiswoode's story is as charming and unpretentious as her young characters. Brimful with the resourcefulness and camaraderie of pre-teen brothers, sisters, and friends, the young characters share a magical, if mysterious and scary, summer. This is an enchanting and heart-warming tale in much the same spirit as Arthur Ransome's ageless Swallows and Amazons.” —Peter Johnson, author of To the Lighthouse: An Explorer's Guide to the Island Lighthouses of Southwestern BC
“Brother XII’s Treasure is an absorbing, fast-paced book full of interesting characters, unexpected events, and a sense of . . . compelling quest and exploration.” —Todd Kyle, CM Magazine