Category: <span>Award News</span>

Heritage House wins two Alcuin Awards for book design

This week, the Alcuin Society announced the 2022 winners of their annual book award—the Alcuin Society Book Design Awards. Heritage House is overjoyed to share that two of our books have been recognized for excellence in design. • Out of the Fire: Metalworkers along the Salish Sea, designed by Lara Minja – Lime Design, won … Continued

Aggie & Mudgy wins the City of Victoria Children’s Book Prize

The night of October 12, 2022 Mayor Lisa Helps and co-sponsor Brian Butler announced Wendy Proverbs as the winner of the City of Victoria Children’s Book Prize for her novel Aggie & Mudgy: The Journey of Two Kaska Dene Children. Established in 2008, the City of Victoria Children’s Book Prize recognizes and celebrates exceptional literature for … Continued

kā-āciwīkicik / The Move finalist for Governor General’s Literary Award

Canada Council for the Arts announced the Governor General’s Literary Awards finalists on October 12, 2022. We are honoured to share that kā-āciwīkicik / The Move is one of the finalists for Young People’s Literature – Illustrated Books! Rooted in the historical displacement and relocation of members of the Chemawawin First Nation from their ancestral … Continued

Aggie & Mudgy on First Nations Communities READ shortlist

First Nation Communities READ announced the 2022-2023 shortlist on September 21, 2022, for the Periodical Marketers of Canada (PMC) Indigenous Literature Award in two categories. We’re proud to share that Aggie & Mudgy: The Journey of Two Kaska Dena Children, written by Wendy Proverbs, has been shortlisted in the YA/Adult category. The shortlist was chosen … Continued

Two Heritage House books shortlisted for Victoria Book Prizes 2022

Heritage House is overjoyed to see two of our Indigenous children’s books on the shortlist for the 2022 City of Victoria Children’s Book Prize. The $5,000 prize, now in its 15th year, is awarded to a Greater Victoria author or illustrator for the best children’s book. Aggie and Mudgy: The Journey of Two Kaska Dena … Continued

Lost on the Prairie nominated for two awards!

Wonderful news! Lost on the Prairie by MaryLou Driedger has been nominated for two awards: Manitoba Book Awards’ Eileen McTavish Sykes Award for Best First Book and the 2023 MYRCA Sundogs Award. The Eileen McTavish Sykes Award for Best First Book is presented annually to a Manitoba writer whose first professionally-published English-language book is deemed … Continued

White Raven shortlisted for 2022 Indigenous Voices Awards

The finalists for the fifth annual Indigenous Voices Awards (IVAs) were announced on May 6, 2022, and we are honoured to see White Raven by Teoni Spathelfer and Natassia Davies (illus.) is counted among them! The Indigenous Voices Awards aims to honour the sovereignty of Indigenous creative voices, and support and nurture the work of … Continued

Three books longlisted for the First Nation Communities Read Awards

The Ontario Library Service has announced their longlist nominees for the 2022/2023 First Nation Communities Read Awards. We are so excited to share that three Heritage House books have been nominated!  In the Children’s category, both Little Wolf and White Raven have been longlisted. These are the first two books in the Little Wolf series … Continued

Aggie & Mudgy by Wendy Proverbs wins 2022 Jeanne Clarke Award

Congratulations to Wendy Proverbs! Her debut novel, Aggie and Mudgy: The Journey of Two Kaska Dena Children has won the 2022 Jeanne Clarke Award. Our congratulations also to Ken Mather, who was nominated for his work on Wagon Road North: The Saga of the Cariboo Gold Rush, Revised and Expanded Edition. The Prince George Public Library … Continued

Two books nominated for Jeanne Clarke Award

The Prince George Public Library Board has announced the nominees for the 37th annual Jeanne Clarke Awards. The Jeanne Clarke Local History Award was established by the Library Board in 1985, in memory of former library board chair Jeanne Clarke. We are delighted to share that two Heritage House books are nominated for the 2022 … Continued